simple sautéed mushrooms

Aren’t mushrooms great?  I agree with my father: “I never met a mushroom I didn’t like.”  What’s even better is when it’s not just button or crimini mushrooms on hand, but more exciting varieties like oyster mushrooms or fresh shitakes.

We received a paper bag full of fresh shitake mushrooms in our CSA share this week, and this intrigued me because I had never encountered nor cooked with fresh shitakes.  These were not the shriveled, dried ones that you find at the store!  They were beautiful, and I decided that they needed to be the star of their own dish, not one of many ingredients in a stir-fry.

In this simple recipe, the fresh, woodsy rosemary perfectly compliments the earthy, forest-y flavors of the fresh mushrooms.

simple sautéed mushrooms

serves 1 as an entrée or 2 as a side dish

Ingredients:

2 cups fresh mushrooms, any variety, chopped (here, I used fresh shitakes)

1 tablespoon fresh rosemary, finely chopped

olive oil

kosher salt

freshly ground black pepper

fresh shitake mushrooms and fresh rosemary

Method:

Rinse and roughly chop the mushrooms.  Sautée the mushrooms over medium-high heat with olive oil and rosemary until the mushrooms brown, reduce and release their liquid.  (This takes about 5 minutes with a hot pan.)

Season the mushrooms with salt and pepper to taste, and serve them with their juices as an entrée or side dish.  (I like to prepare a big batch of a mix of button, crimini and oyster mushrooms as a side dish for Thanksgiving.)  Delish!

7 responses to “simple sautéed mushrooms

  1. Those mushrooms look delish! Which CSA are you a part of?

    • Thanks! We subscribe to the High Ground Organics CSA. Our pick-up site is on Wednesdays in Willow Glen, which is super convenient for us. We love it and pretty much never have to buy produce. It’s so satisfying to know that we’re cooking with veggies that are fresh, local and seasonal. (I know that sounds so yuppie-ish, but it’s true! haha)

  2. Sorta yuppy but that’s exactly why I frequent farmer’s markets (an drive waaaaay out of my way for a good one) on a regular basis! I’ve been thinking a CSA might be a more convenient option, although I do very much enjoy the experience of walking around the market 🙂

    • CSA is convenient, but–word of advice–you need two people dedicated to eating vegetables throughout the week to make sure you can keep up with the weekly shares. (Or, you can throw a dinner party every weekend! hee hee) I subscribed to this CSA a couple years ago when I was single, and I had a hard time using up the vegetables each week and discontinued it.

  3. Pingback: rustic mash of roasted root vegetables | knife, whisk & spoon

  4. You’ve re-awakened my love for mushrooms. Pictures are irresistible.

Leave a Reply

